August 31, 2004

  •  



    Fischer fears 'conviction, prison, torture and murder' in US
    By David Barber
    (Filed: 29/08/2004)


    Bobby Fischer, the American former world chess champion, fears that he will be "tried convicted, sentenced, imprisoned, tortured and murdered" when Japan deports him to America.


    Fischer said Japan, his home for the past three years, was guilty of a "vicious betrayal" after he lost his legal battle against deportation last week. He faces a 10-year prison sentence in the United States for violating international sanctions in 1992 by playing a chess game in the former Yugoslavia against his long-time Russian rival, Boris Spassky.


    "They are preparing to deport me to the US to be murdered,' Fischer told Bombo Radyo in a rambling telephone interview. "They stabbed me in the back. I spent $350,000 here in Japan. I gave them my time, I gave them my money, spent a fortune going to Japanese mineral baths. But just one call from the US embassy and they are sending me to prison in the US to die."


     

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories